Looking for the wide

Animadoc
2015/ 30 min
Direction: Falk Schuster

GDR. Summer 1987. Family Schuster from the city of Leipzig crosses the country with a Trabant and a trailer, going on vacation to a private accommodation on the Baltic Sea. The accommodation is located in the small town of Klütz in the immediate vicinity of the then inner German border. Here, things work differently than usual in the GDR. The People´s Police, border brigades, and their civilian helpers have their eyes and ears everywhere. The overzealous authorities are peering and seeing potential refugees from the republic in the holiday paradise.

Intricately produced by the rotoscopy method, each scene had to be shot with extras on video and then retraced frame by frame. Thus, despite minimalism, the animated holiday trip is more authentic than some of the contemporary documents. Through his virtuoso graphic precision and reduction to the essential, the young filmmaker succeeds in producing a small but fine aesthetic masterpiece that, at the same time, takes the spectator in his 4-engine time machine nearly 30 years back in time.

Festivals:
International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film; Animateka Ljubljana, Slovenia; International Short Film Week, Regensburg; Cartoons on the Bay, Venice; Animation Festival Monstra, Lisbon; Film Festival Max Ophuels Prize, Saarbrücken; Film Art Festival Mecklenburg-Vorpommern; Golden Kuker Sofia, Bulgaria

Prizes:
Film Prize of the Minister of Arts in the National Competition - Filmfest Dresden 2016
FBW predicate "particularly valuable"
Kurzsüchtig Leipzig - Audience Award
Grenzland Filmtage Selb - 2nd prize in the documentary category
ARD program premium according to the performance model of the cornerstones 2.0 2017

Die Weite suchen

Animadok
2015/ 30 min
Regie: Falk Schuster

DDR. Sommer 1987. Familie Schuster aus dem Bezirk Leipzig fährt einmal quer durchs Land in den Urlaub. Mit dem Trabant und einem Anhänger zu einer Privatunterkunft an der Ostsee. Diese befindet sich in dem kleinen Ort Klütz in unmittelbarer Nähe zur damaligen innerdeutschen Grenze. Hier ticken die Uhren anders als normalerweise in der DDR. Volkspolizei, Grenzbrigaden und deren Helfer in Zivil haben ihre Augen und Ohren überall. Die übereifrigen Staatsorgane spähen und sehen überall potentielle Republikflüchtlinge im Urlauberparadies.

Aufwendig im Rotoskopieverfahren hergestellt, musste jede Einstellung erst auf Video mit Statisten gedreht und dann Bild für Bild nachgezeichnet werden. Dadurch wirkt, trotz Minimalismus, der animierte Urlaubstrip authentischer als manches Zeitdokument. Durch seine virtuose graphische Präzision und Reduzierung auf das Wesentliche gelingt dem jungen Filmemacher ein kleines aber feines ästhetisches Meisterwerk, das gleichzeitig den Zuschauer in seiner 4motorigen Zeitmaschine bald 30 Jahre zurückversetzt.

Festivals:
Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm; Animateka Ljubljana, Slovenien; Internationale Kurzfilmwoche, Regensburg; Cartoons on the Bay, Venedig; Animation Festival Monstra, Lissabon; Film Festival Max-Ophuels-Preis, Saarbrücken; Filmkunstfest Mecklenburg-Vorpommern; Golden Kuker Sofia, Bulgarien

Preise:
Filmförderpreis der Kunstministerin im Nationalen Wettbewerb
FBW-Prädikat "Besonders wertvoll"
Kurzsüchtig Leipzig - Publikumspreis
Grenzland Filmtage Selb - 2. Preis in der Kategorie Dokumentarfilm